FROM CELL (PHONE) TO (JAIL) CELL?

When I see people sleepwalking through life with a cell phone pasted to their ear, or constantly sending/reading messages on a Blackberry, I often wonder if we really have become slaves to our gadgets.  Apparently, some of us really have:

Cops: Pregnant woman tries to rob bank, gets call

FAYETTEVILLE, N.C. — Police are looking for a pregnant woman they say tried to rob a North Carolina bank at gunpoint but left empty-handed after answering her cell phone. Fayetteville police spokeswoman Teresa Chance said Wednesday the woman had a handgun and demanded money when she entered a Carter Bank & Trust branch at 9:43 a.m. Tuesday.
     
But she got distracted when her cell phone rang. Police said she began talking to the caller and left the bank without taking any money. No one was hurt.

I guess this call was too important to let it go to voicemail.  “I'm sorry, I can't take your call right now, I'm committing a violent felony.  Please leave your name and number, and I'll get back to you later.  Unless I'm in police custody.”

Leave a comment