this day in crime history: december 8, 1980

loozer

On this date in 1980, former Beatle John Lennon was shot and killed outside his apartment building in New York City by a pathetic loser named Mark David Chapman. Chapman was arrested and charged with second degree murder. He pleaded guilty and was sentenced to twenty years to life in prison. He first came up for parole in 2000. His parole was denied. He has been denied at every subsequent parole hearing. He is eligible again in August 2016.

Further reading:

Crime Museum – The Murder of John Lennon

Wikipedia – Death of John Lennon

7 thoughts on “this day in crime history: december 8, 1980

  1. Reblogged this on Brittius and commented:
    I would like to thank Chapman for wrecking dinner and a night out. Me and Old Granny got a babysitter, finally had an evening planned, and in a restaurant over dinner, a woman walks in hysterically crying and shouts that Lennon was killed. All the women in the place went hysterical, including my wife. Check, please. Chapman, I owe you one that I never forgot. You want forgiveness, go to church. God forgives, I don’t.

    Like

  2. John D.:
    Another person that doesn’t deserve to see freedom again.
    While not a huge Lennon fan, it still made NO sense to shoot him at all.

    let’s hope every parole hearing ends in a denial.

    Stay safe out there.

    Like

  3. I was on detail, on an out-of-town investigation. My partner called me first thing in the morning and told me. He said, “John Lennon got shot.” My first reaction? He finally told Yoko she was ugly.
    I’m a bad person.

    Like

Leave a Reply

