this day in crime history: april 24, 1953

On this date in 1953, a crew of robbers held up the Southwest Bank in St. Louis. The robbers didn’t get far with their loot; police officers confronted them as they exited the bank. In the ensuing shootout, a police officer and one of the robbers were injured, and two of the robbers wound up dead (one by his own hand). The story attracted national attention and was made into a movie in 1959 starring Steve McQueen. Officer Mel Stein, who shot and killed one of the robbers, played himself in the movie.

Check out this video about the robbery. It includes an interview with Officer Stein.

Further reading:

stltoday.com: A Look Back: Fast action foils bank robbery in 1953

The Great St. Louis Bank Robbery (1959)at IMDb

6 thoughts on “this day in crime history: april 24, 1953

  1. John D.:
    You weren’t lying when you said they didn’t get FAR.
    I have got to check out that movie, too.
    Ne interesting to see McQueen in something of his I haven’t viewed yet.

    Good post.

    Roll safe out there.

    Like

  2. John D.:
    Seems none of my comments are showing up…at least not w/ Google Chriome.
    (good post, BTW)…gotta get that McQueeen glivk.

    Stay safe out there..

    Like

  3. John D.:
    I think I found the “bug”…(moderation) plus I now have to log in w/ Google (always something, eh?)
    Good story…gotta see that McQueen flick before I die…LOL.

    😉
    Obviously one of his earlier movies, but I’d bet it’s pretty good.

    Stay safe out there.

    Like

    • I found the DVD of this movie at my local library. Well worth the hour and a half or so I spent watching it.

      Not sure what’s the deal with the comments. The only way you should be required to sign in to comment is if you have a WordPress/Gravatar account and you use the email address associated with that account when you fill out the comments info. Let me know if you continue to have problems. I apologize for any inconvenience,

      Like

Leave a Reply

