28
Aug
14

ray donovan – another tv addiction

RD

The last thing I needed was another must-see TV show to distract me from other things that I ought to be doing. But that’s just what I have in Ray Donovan, a Showtime original series. Liev Schreiber stars as a “fixer” for the rich and famous. Being blackmailed? Run over a homeless guy while driving drunk? Wake up next to a naked dead girl? Ray Donovan can fix those things for you. But it won’t be easy. And it won’t be cheap. As interesting as Ray’s work life is, his personal life is just as tumultuous.

Schreiber is excellent in the lead role, but the show’s supporting cast is every bit as good. The cast includes Paula Malcomson (Deadwood),  Eddie Marsan (Sherlock Holmes, The World’s End), Steven Bauer, Elliot Gould, Denise Crosby (Star Trek: The Next Generation) and Jon Voigt. Voight, who plays Ray’s loose cannon father, Mickey, almost steals the show.

I started watching this a month ago, binge-watching season 1. I’m now into season 2 and, as of Monday night, caught up to the most recent episode. Now I have to wait a week to get my next fix. Damn you, Showtime! Why can’t you just drop a whole season at once, like Netflix? Oh well, just another first-world problem I have to suffer with.

Here’s the trailer for season 1.


6 Responses to “ray donovan – another tv addiction”


  1. August 28, 2014 at 11:24 am

    John D.:
    Although we don’t get SHOWTIME, I personally think damn near ANYthing by Liev Schreiber is deserving of some of my time.

    He co-starred with Daniel Craig in that movie: DEFIANCE and was a pretty good Sabretooth in the Wolverine movie. Not to mention,he was REALLY good as Mike Keppler in CSI a couple years back.
    Hopefully, the series will make it to the rest of cable…like Stargate-SG1 did.

    Roll safe out there.

  2. August 28, 2014 at 5:08 pm

    Damn it to Hell, it’s on Showtime. The concept, and Liev, is a draw, but I have to wait for binge watching when it comes available via another medium, or streaming. And I kinda hate that.

    • August 28, 2014 at 10:21 pm

      As I mentioned in reply to Bob’s comment, season 1 is out on DVD (Blu-Ray too, I think) if you’re up for a binge-watch. That’s how I got caught up on Breaking Bad before the final season aired, I borrowed the DVDs from my local library (four seasons were a bit much to purchase at once).

  3. August 30, 2014 at 8:31 am

    Absolutely love the show. It is a worthy successor to Dexter and I’m glad it was picked up for a 3rd season. The “guest stars” that the have for the story arcs (Frank Whaley and Hank Azaria) play characters that are so far out of the norm for them that it can make one look at them in a new light. I don’t remember Paula Malcomson from Deadwood,/I>, so that’s something I’ll have to check out. If you’re looking for interesting movies featuring Liev Schreiber, check a Canadian movie called Goon and one he did with Ned Beatty called Spring Forward


Leave a Reply

contact

symphonic_gunfire(at)hotmail.com

currently reading

Twitter Updates

Categories

Archives

wordpress blog stats

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 340 other followers

